Award Season


As we draw close to the end of this unique semester, I am happy to report some shining examples of excellence from KSU faculty and staff.

First, Kennesaw State has been named a 2020 U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon School for its commitment to a healthy, safe, and sustainable learning environment. KSU is one of five post-secondary schools in the country to receive this award. This recognition is a testament to the effectiveness of KSU’s support of sustainable practices, and it is a reminder of what an outstanding job our faculty and staff are doing to minimize our environmental impact. Thanks to the Sustainability Team within the Office of Campus Planning and Sustainability and the members of the Presidential Commission for Sustainability who continue to lead the University's efforts in this important area.

Next, I am pleased to formally announce this year's prestigious faculty award recipients selected by five university committees with representation from each of the academic colleges.

Professor of Physics Nikolaos Kidonakis, a theoretical particle physicist, is the recipient of this year’s Distinguished Professor Award. This award recognizes a faculty member who has achieved distinction in the three areas of teaching, research and service.

Other award recipients are:

  • Outstanding Teaching: Sohyun An, Department of Elementary and Early Childhood Education
  • Outstanding Teaching: Charles Parrott, Department of Theatre and Performance Studies
  • Outstanding Online Teaching: Ana-Maria Croicu, Department of Mathematics
  • Outstanding Part-time Teaching: Vijay Goyal, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Outstanding Professional Service and Community Engagement: Jennifer Dickey, Department of History and Philosophy
  • Outstanding Research and Creative Activity: Iván Jorrín Abellán, Department of Secondary and Middle Grades Education
  • Outstanding Research and Creative Activity: Yusun Chang, Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Outstanding Early Career Faculty: David Buckman, Department of Educational Leadership
  • Outstanding Early Career Faculty: Meng Han, Department of Information Technology
  • Madhuri and Jagdish N. Sheth Faculty Award for Distinguished International Achievement: Katya Vladimirov, Department of History and Philosophy
  • Diversity and Inclusion: Kenneth Williamson, Department of Geography and Anthropology 

Please join me in congratulating each of these truly exceptional faculty members.

Pamela Whitten


Written By Whitten