Excellent Faculty Lead to Outstanding Students


While our students are the heart of the University, our faculty and staff are the soul. Dedicated to Kennesaw State’s mission, our faculty provide engaging learning and growth opportunities that support student success, and through their scholarly pursuits demonstrate our ability to achieve our goal of becoming the best R3 institution in the nation.

Every day, I meet with or hear about faculty members who are distinguishing themselves in their fields and serve as role models for our students.

Lance Crimm, professor and chair of the Department of Electrical Engineering, is one such faculty member. Named the 2019 Engineer of the Year by the Georgia Society of Professional Engineers, his leadership in the Southern Polytechnic College of Engineering and Engineering Technology has been instrumental in helping the College become one of the region’s top engineering schools.

Dr. Jennifer Priestley, professor of statistics and data science and associate dean of the Graduate College, established and oversees KSU’s Analytics and Data Science Institute. The Institute engages with local and regional businesses, and under Dr. Priestley’s direction has secured more than $1.3 million since it began in 2017. The Institute also houses the Ph.D. in Analytics and Data Science, a program Dr. Priestley developed and continues to oversee.

This week, the KSU Foundation will help us recognize more than two dozen faculty members for their outstanding contributions in teaching, research, and service. Dr. Laurence Sherr, professor of music in the College of the Arts, is this year’s recipient of the KSU Foundation Distinguished Professor Award. Dr. Sherr is internationally renowned for his research on music and the Holocaust and engages audiences about how the lessons of the past can help shape the future.

The Foundation awards, which also acknowledge the contributions of outstanding staff members, serve as an opportunity to highlight some of our colleagues who are making a difference at KSU.

Like Lance Crimm, Jennifer Priestley, and Laurence Sherr, the Foundation honorees serve as an inspiration for our students and the entire KSU community.

Pamela Whitten


Written By Whitten