Faculty Committed to Student Success


When it comes to finding opportunities for success for our students, Kennesaw State's faculty are front and center. That's why they are eager to take the lead in programs like the University System of Georgia's Affordable Learning Georgia, an initiative to promote alternatives to expensive textbooks.

In the latest round of funding from Affordable Learning Georgia (ALG), KSU faculty members have been awarded the highest number of grants among all institutions in the state.

The ALG grants range from $2,800 to $30,000 each, and the KSU faculty members awarded are:

  • Sarah North, computer science;
  • Rebecca Rutherfoord, information technology;
  • Daniel Farr, sociology;
  • Lin Li, systems engineering;
  • Meng Han, information technology;
  • Uttam Kokil, interactive design; and
  • Ulrike Ingram, geographic information systems.

It's no surprise that Kennesaw State has so many members of the faculty who are dedicated to student success. These faculty are concerned about the high cost of materials and want to be part of the solution. And the leadership of faculty like Professor of English Tamara Powell – who supports many of our faculty in writing ALG grant proposals – helps to keep Kennesaw State focused on the principles of providing the best education at the lowest possible cost to students.

Behind every successful student is a faculty member who has been dedicated to helping them succeed. When they participate in programs like Affordable Learning Georgia, faculty members demonstrate KSU’s commitment to being a student-centric university.

Pamela Whitten


Written By Whitten