Recognizing Faculty Standouts


Behind every successful student at Kennesaw State is a faculty member who is dedicated to helping them succeed. All of KSU’s educators are focused on providing students with new opportunities to find their pathways to success.

I am pleased to report some shining examples of excellence from KSU faculty, as this year's prestigious faculty award recipients have been selected by five University committees with representation from each of the academic colleges.

Professor of Electrical Engineering Yusun Chang is the recipient of this year’s University Distinguished Professor Award. This award recognizes a faculty member who has achieved distinction in the three areas of teaching, research and service. Dr. Chang is assistant chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and director of a joint research lab, Vehicular Ad-hoc Networking (VANET), between KSU and Georgia Tech.

Other award recipients are: 

  • Outstanding Teaching: Hassan Pournaghshband, Department of Software Engineering and Game Development 
  • Outstanding TeachingJennifer Vandenbussche, Department of Mathematics 
  • Outstanding Online Teaching: David Johnson, Department of English 
  • Outstanding Part-time TeachingJoanne Lee, Department of Educational Leadership 
  • Outstanding Professional Service and Community EngagementDouglas Moodie, Michael A. Leven School of Management, Entrepreneurship and Hospitality 
  • Outstanding Research and Creative Activity: Sohyun An, Department of Elementary and Early Childhood Education 
  • Outstanding Research and Creative Activity: Jianming Wen, Department of Physics 
  • Outstanding Early Career Faculty: Marco Guzzi, Department of Physics 
  • Outstanding Early Career Faculty: Junggab Son, Department of Computer Science 
  • Madhuri and Jagdish N. Sheth Faculty Award for Distinguished International Achievement: Jayoung Choi, Department of Inclusive Education 
  • Diversity and Inclusion: Roneisha Worthy, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Please join me in thanking and congratulating each of these faculty members for their unwavering dedication to KSU and our students.

Pamela Whitten


Written By Whitten